The Users section allows you to create, edit and delete users on your site.
There are two kinds of EditMe users: Administrators and Registered Users. Administrators have full access to the site; the same access that the account creator has, including access to the Site Settings tool. Registered Users can be given access to edit pages and upload attachments. See Site Security for details.
If you have enabled editing by registered users in the Page Security section of Site Settings, but have not enabled public registration in the Registrations section, you must create Registered Users using this section. Otherwise, visitors to you site can click Register to create their own user accounts.
To create a new user from the Users section of Site Settings, click the "Add User" link. You will be prompted to fill out the Registration form for the new user. Select "Regular" from the User Type drop down to create a Registered User, or select "Administrator" to create an administrator. If you select "Locked", the user account will exist but the user won't be allowed to log in.
If you create a user, you will have to notify the user that you have created an account for them, and tell them their user name and password.You can use the Invite Users as a shortcut to doing this if your site has Registration enabled.
Below the "Add User" link, all of the existing users on the site are listed. You can delete any user on the site by selecting one or more users and clicking the "Delete Selected Users" button at the top.
If you have created any User Groups on your site, you can select which groups a user should be a member of when editing or creating a user.
Users can change their own passwords and update their own email address by clicking the "User Preferences" link on the site after logging in. If a user forgets their password, they can have it mailed to them by clicking the "Forgot Password" link found on the login form of your site.
If a user forgets their password and for some reason cannot have it emailed to them, an administrator can reset it by deleting the user here and recreating it.
Accepting Moderated Registrations
If you selected Moderated Registrations in the Registrations section of Site Settings, new self-registered users will be Locked by default. To accept a user, click Edit and change the Type dropdown to "Regular". The user will receive an automatic email notification that their registration has been approved. If you delete the locked user, no notification will be sent.
Back to Site Administration