Disk Space And Bandwidth
Use the Disk Space and Bandwidth section of Site Settings to monitor your site's resource utilization.
Depending on which plan you chose when creating your account, your site will have a set limit on disk space and bandwidth. Disk space is a measure of the size of all pages and attachments (and page and attachment versions) on your site. Bandwidth is a measure of network utilization, and is measured using your site's web logs.
Disk space is updated every time a page is saved or an attachment is uploaded, while bandwidth is updated nightly.
If your site runs out of disk space, you will not be able to edit pages or upload attachments until space has been made available, or your sites disk space is increased (see Upgrading Your Account).
If your site uses more than its allocated bandwidth, a message explaining that your bandwidth utilization has been exceeded will be displayed in place of your site's content.
In either case administrators still have access to login and reach the Disk and Bandwidth tool in site settings.
Disk Space & Bandwidth Report
The first part of the Disk and Bandwidth section is a report of your site's resource utilization. Disk space utilization is broken down into attachments and page content, with a total and percentage of total used. You'll notice that textual page content takes up very little space (a 25 MB site can store thousands of text pages), while attachments tend to add up quickly.
Bandwidth is listed for the current month and previous month, with a percentage of total used for the current month.
Cleanup Page & Attachment Versions
This section provides a tool for deleting old versions of pages and attachments. If your site is heavily edited, old page versions can add up to use a considerable amount of disk space. Frequently, users can recover 50%-90% of the disk space used by their site by deleting old versions.
There are four options for deleting old versions, depending on how much space you want to recover. The amount of disk space that would be saved with each mode is listed as well:
- Delete All But Current - This option deletes every single page and attachment version with the exception of the current versions. Current versions are the versions that are displayed on your site.
- Delete Older Than 1 Week/1 Month/3 Months - Deletes all page and attachment versions older than one week, one month, or three months, respectively.
Click the Submit button when you have made your choice.
Note that deleted versions CANNOT be retrieved. Be sure to check through your site (particularly if it is publicly editable) to make sure the current versions are intact before deleting old versions.
Back to Site Administration